• Print


The current university model focuses on students as the protagonists in the learning process and is measured in ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) credits. The Government of Catalonia has played an active role in the fact that all bachelor’s degree syllabi at Catalan universities include periods of practical training in businesses or institutions, alongside subjects that guarantee knowledge of a third language, preferably English.

The current structure of university degree courses sets three cycles leading to the obtaining of official university bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees. 

In this context, the Spanish Qualifications Framework for Higher Education (MECES), aimed at enabling the classification, comparability and transparency of qualifications, establishes different qualification levels according to the results to which the course leads: bachelor’s degree – level 2; university master’s degree – level 3; and doctorate – level 4.

Bachelor’s degrees

These are the first degree courses studied when students are admitted to universities. The aim of these courses of study is to provide students with a general knowledge of their chosen field, to prepare them for their future professional careers. 

University master’s degrees

These begin following completion of a bachelor’s degree. Master’s degrees are intended to provide the student with advanced specialist or multidisciplinary training aimed at academic or professional specialisation, or to enable the student to embark on research projects.


Official university doctorates enable the student to gain the skills and abilities required for quality scientific research. The aim of doctoral programmes is to develop the different aspects of the doctoral candidate's training and to establish the procedures and the line of research to enable them to produce a doctoral thesis.

Update:  05.10.2015