• Print


Among its many other activities, UNESCO promotes interuniversity cooperation, academic mobility, knowledge transfer and the creation of networks on an international scale. For this reason, in 1992 the UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme for university twinning was created, UNESCO's most important inter-sector activity in the field of higher education.
Through the creation of UNESCO Chairs specialised in specific themes at different universities around the world, this programme aims to be a tool for developing interuniversity cooperation, placing emphasis on knowledge transfer between universities and the promotion of worldwide academic solidarity.

UNESCO awards this title to teaching and research units in place atuniversities, institutions of higher learning or scientific centreswhich stand out for their academic excellence and share in UNESCO’sobjectives. UNESCO commissions these units to organise teaching anddissemination activities in a specific field of knowledge considered apriority. The world’s first UNESCO Chair, the UNESCO Chair in NumericalMethods in Engineering at the Polytechnic University of Catalonia, wasapproved in 1989.
The projects developed by the different Chairs around the world cover awide range of fields, from sustainable development, the environment andpopulation, to any branch of science, technology, engineering or thesocial and human sciences, as well as peace, democracy, human rights,education sciences, culture and communication. In addition to carryingout research projects, the UNESCO Chairs promote postgraduateprogrammes and elective credits for all students.

Humanities and Social Sciences 

  • UNESCO Chair in Gender, Development and Cultures. University of Barcelona and the University of Vic
  • UNESCO Chair in Communication. Autonomous University of Barcelona
  • UNESCO Chair in Peace and Human Rights. Autonomous University of Barcelona
  • UNESCO Chair in Education and Technology por Social Change. Open University of Catalonia
  •  UNESCO Chair in Cultural Policies and Cooperation. University of Girona
  •  UNESCO International Chair / Network for a Sustainable Human Development. University of Girona
  •  UNESCO Chair in Education, Development and Technology. Ramon Llull University
  •  UNESCO Chair on Linguistic and Cultural Diversity. Institute of Catalan Studies
  •  UNESCO Chair in Intercultural Dialogue in the Mediterranean. Rovira i Virgili University
  •  UNESCO Chair in Bioethics. University of Barcelona
  •  UNESCO Chair in Data Privacy. Rovira i Virgili University
  •  UNESCO Chair in Intermediate Cities:
  •   Urbanization and Development. University of Lleida

 Sciences and Engineering

  • UNESCO Chair in Numerical Methods in Engineering. Polytechnic University of Catalonia
  •  UNESCO Chair in Sustainability. Polytechnic University of Catalonia
  •  UNESCO Chair in Visual Health and Development. Polytechnic University of Catalonia
  •  UNESCO Chair Pere Duran Farell ‘Technology and Culture’. Polytechnic University of Catalonia


Update:  23.03.2018