In the international sphere and the field of universities and research, in addition to being members of European Union institutions and taking part in their programmes, the Government of Catalonia has agreements with other international institutions of differing rank. Catalan institutions are also members of a number of international themed networks.

Japan Plan of the Government of Catalonia (CAT)

One of the working groups operating within this plan focuses on universities and research. Its main areas of action are scientific collaboration and student and researcher mobility.

Morocco Plan of the Government of Catalonia (CAT)

On 15 September 2014, the Government of Catalonia approved the Morocco Plan for 2014-2017, the aim of which is to work together in a coordinated manner with this country to enhance and promote actions in five areas: institutional relations; development cooperation; economic relations; culture, universities and research; and the Catalan population with Moroccan roots. The Culture, Universities and Research working group, led by the European Institute of the Mediterranean (IEMed), will work to consolidate the scientific and university spheres, among other objectives.

Collaboration agreement between Santa Catarina (Brazil) and Catalonia (CAT)

The collaboration agreement between the governments of Catalonia and Santa Catarina (Brazil) anticipates university cooperation and cooperation in research and innovation as priority areas of action.

Pyrenees Working Community

The Pyrenees Working Community (CTP), which consists of Catalonia, the Principality of Andorra, Aquitaine, Languedoc-Roussillon, Midi-Pyrénées, Aragon, the Basque Country and Navarre, is a cross-border cooperation structure with the remit, among other things, of promoting activities and projects in the spheres of training, mobility and research. It also awards a number of different grants. Promoting double degree awards among universities is another priority of the Catalan representation within this network.

Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion

The Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion, which consists of Catalonia, Aragon, the Balearic Islands and the Regional Councils of Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées, aims to create a pole of sustainable development based on innovation and the social and economic integration of the territory. One of the key areas of action is the development of the university and scientific Euroregion through, among other activities, the promotion of joint degrees awarded by the universities in the member regions.

Districts of Creativity Network

Catalonia is part of the Districts of Creativity Network, which consists of Catalonia, Flanders, Scotland, Baden-Württemberg, Lombardy, Nord-Pas de Calais, Quebec, Maryland, Shanghai and Karnataka. The aim of this network is to promote the regional economies by strengthening entrepreneurial spirit and acting as an organisational platform to foster innovation and technological development among actors in the member territories.

Agreements with Massachusetts

The Declaration of Intent signed on 20 June 2012 between the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Government of Catalonia, which aims to strengthen economic and cultural links, highlights academic cooperation and research and technological and industrial innovation as priority areas for cooperation.

Declaration of Intent between the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Government of Catalonia.

Four Motors for Europe

This interregional group has been working together for more than 20 years to promote the territories that make up the group in Europe and internationally. This promotion focuses on a variety of fields, including the scientific and academic spheres.

Union for the Mediterranean (UfM)

In 2008, the city of Barcelona was designated as the headquarters of the permanent Secretariat of the Union for the Mediterranean, a multilateral partnership comprising twenty-seven Member States of the European Union and 16 countries of the southern and eastern banks of the Mediterranean: Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Mauritania, Monaco, Montenegro, the Palestinian National Authority, Syria, Tunisia and Turkey. Among the priority projects to be developed, of particular note are those for the development of the Euro-Mediterranean Higher Education and Research Area and the creation of the Euro-Mediterranean University.